Conferences, Symposiums & Talks

ReDesignEd Educators Forum 2018




The ReDesignEd Educators Forum is a three-day event encompassing thought-provoking talks and debate from visionary design educators and professionals from around the world. Their aim is to collaboratively and openly rethink the future of global design education such that the generation of designers to come will be appropriately empowered to successfully navigate, lead and impact future society and culture in our rapidly changing world.
Design & Craft: Rethinking the Craft of Design and the Design of Craft is a public discussion panel consisting:

  • Keynote speaker Hans Tan, Singapore President's Design Award 2018 recipient;
  • Panelists Shashi Caan, President of GloW-DESIGN; Ian Pirie, Emeritus Professor of Design at the University of Edinburgh; Mark Wee, Executive Director of Design Singapore Council; Danny Wicaksono, Co-founder of Studio Dasar; and Jim Speers, Associate Professor of the University of Auckland;
  • Moderators Stanley Lim and Yasser Bin Suratman of LASALLE College of the Arts

ReDesignEd Educators Forum is organised by GloW-DESIGN, a global, independent thought leadership platform that generates and disseminates new design thinking, practice and processes to tackle contemporary problems, with LASALLE as education partner.
Other participating institutions at 2018's forum include Arizona State University, USA; Berlin University of the Arts, Germany; Chulalongkorn University, Thailand; Donghua University, China; Glasgow School of Art, United Kingdom; Instituto Europeo di Design, Brazil; Lebanese American University, Lebanon; l'Ecole de Design Nantes Atlantique, France; National College of Art & Design, Ireland; National University of Singapore, Singapore; New York University Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates; Savannah College of Art + Design, Hong Kong; TAFE NSW, Australia; The University of Auckland, New Zealand; University of Johannesburg, South Africa; University of Lincoln, England; University of Nevada Las Vegas, USA; University of New South Wales Sydney, Australia.

Organiser: Faculty of Design